Six Eagles named to All-Conference lists

Six Eagles named to All-Conference lists

ROCK HILL, S.C. – Three Eagles made All-South Atlantic Conference First-Team members while three others were named as honorable mentions, as announced by the league on Wednesday.

For the third consecutive season, Tom Read earned a spot on the first team. The senior scored 10 goals in the regular season.

VIDEO: Tom Read Interview

Read had 69 shots on the season, second-most in program history with 217 total. His shots attempted put him at eighth in program history for individual season records, bypassing his 2015 total of 62.

He had 27 shots on goal for third in program history for career shots on goal (92). His three assists gave him 31 in his career, just one shy of tying the program record for career assists.

Fellow captain and senior Samuel Jenkins was also named to the first team list. He appeared in 17 games this season with 17 starts, tallying one assist as he made his presence known on both ends of the pitch.

VIDEO: Sam Jenkins Interview

Tobias Solem Karlsen's 11 goals on the season propelled him to the first-team list. He was named the Conference Player of the Week twice this season with two hat tricks in his arsenal. He's the first C-N player to score multiple hat tricks in one season.

VIDEO: Tobias Solem Karlsen Interview

Ashley Kelynack, Jonny Le Quesne and Twan Verweij were all named to the Honorable Mentions list.

Despite battling an injury for part of the season, Kelynack still finished with 3 goals. He and Le Quesne led the team with five assists.

Le Quesne, a transfer this season from Tennessee Wesleyan, compiled had just one goal as a junior, scoring his first career goal in a 2-0 victory over Queens on Sept. 23.

Verweij had a strong season in front of the net with a conference leading 8 shutouts on the season, putting him at fourth on the individual season records list for shutouts, sixth place for the career records list.  He was named the SAC Player of the Week on Oct. 2nd after recording shutouts against Anderson (S.C.) and Alabama Huntsville. He concluded the regular season with an 8-6-1 record.

Lenoir-Rhyne's Ignacio de Goya was selected as the Player of the Year, marking back-to-back years a Bear was named the top player. He concluded the season with 12 goals, good enough for second in the SAC. Four of those were game-winners. He was named a Player of the Week twice this season with a hat trick against Catawba. Till Newmann of Newberry received the title of Freshman of the Year with a conference-leading 13 goals.

Gary Hamill of Wingate was named Coach of the Year for the second straight season. He now has nine Coach of the Year honors from the SAC. Wingate won its eighth SAC Championship as the team closed out the regular season with an 11-4-1 record, 8-1-1 in conference play.

Wingate had the most players named as All-Conference members with seven. Carson-Newman and Lenoir-Rhyne each had six.


2017 South Atlantic Conference Men's Soccer All-Conference


First Team

F – Ignacio de Goya, Lenoir-Rhyne

F – Edmundo Robinson, Queens

F – Danilo da Silva, Lincoln Memorial

F – Tobias Solem Karlsen, Carson-Newman

MF – Tom Read, Carson-Newman

MF – Florian Simon, Lenoir-Rhyne

MF – Filipe Checco, Wingate

MF – Victor Cascon, Lenoir-Rhyne

D – Damian Gaona, Wingate

D – Sercan Cihan, Lenoir-Rhyne

D – Michael Hornsby, Queens

D – Samuel Jenkins, Carson-Newman

GK – Pablo Jara, Wingate


Second Team

F – Elliot Cutts, Wingate

F - Elma N'For, Wingate

F – Aladdin Elfares, Coker

F – Victor Peres, Lincoln Memorial

MF – Henrique Rezek, Lincoln Memorial

MF – Mattia Ditommaso, Wingate

MF – Mateo Correa, Wingate

MF – Cameron Emerson, Anderson

D – Emil Tansinda, Lenoir-Rhyne

D – Oscar Mitchell, Mars Hill

D – Christoph Willemsen, Lincoln Memorial

D – Ronaldo de Jesus, Lincoln Memorial

GK – Zach King, Lenoir-Rhyne


Honorable Mention

F – Thomas Joergsholm, Anderson

F – Ashley Kelynack, Carson-Newman

F – Edgar Cervantes, Tusculum

F – Stian Sanner, Mars Hill

MF – Tobias Henriksen, Newberry

MF – Fabrizio Bucco, Newberry

MF – Cam Macer, Mars Hill

D – Philipp Hollenhorst, Catawba

D – Jonny Le Quesne, Carson-Newman

D – Josh Calabria, Anderosn

D – Robbie Jenkinson, Coker

GK – Twan Verweij, Carson-Newman


Player of the Year

Ignacio de Goya, Lenoir-Rhyne


Freshman of the Year

Mattia Ditmmaso, Wingate


Coach of the Year

Gary Hamill, Wingate

Cheer camp set for July
April 8, 2018 Cheer camp set for July