Carson-Newman Athletic Department


Mailing Address:
Carson-Newman Athletic Department
2130 S. Branner Ave.
Jefferson City, TN 37760

Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Matt Pope
Vice President for Athletics
865-471-3372 mpope@cn.edu
Eddie Carter
Assistant Athletic Director/Compliance
(865) 471-3365 ecarter@cn.edu
Mike Van Bruggen
Director of Sports Medicine
(865) 471-3368 mvanbruggen@cn.edu
Adam Cavalier
Director of Athletic Communications
865-471-3513 acavalier@cn.edu
Johnny Long
Director of Sports Performance
865-471-3360 jjlong@cn.edu
Suzanne Strudwick
Senior Women's Administrator/Head Coach
865-471-4983 sstrudwick@cn.edu
Shelly Laux
Director of Eagle Club and External Operations
865-471-3396 slaux@cn.edu
Gloria Walker
Director of Academic Development
865-471-2078 gwalker@cn.edu
Allen Morgan
Vice President for Athletics, Emeritus
(865) 471-3372 amorgan@cn.edu
Bob Trentham
Faculty Athletic Representative
(865) 471-3253 btrentham@cn.edu

Athletic Communications

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Adam Cavalier
Director of Athletic Communications
865-471-3513 acavalier@cn.edu
Michael Wottreng
Assistant Director of Athletic Communications
865-471-3477 mwottreng@cn.edu
Danielle Whaley
Associate Director Athletic Communications
865-471-3477 dwhaley@cn.edu
Tanner Swift
Athletic Communications Assistant
865-471-3477 tdswift@cn.edu
Catherine Cook
Athletic Communications Assistant
865-471-2477 cecook@cn.edu

Sports Medicine

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mike Van Bruggen
Director of Sports Medicine
(865) 471-3368 mvanbruggen@cn.edu
Becky Cate
Associate Director of Sports Medicine
(865) 471-2049 rgeorge@cn.edu
Brwyan Campbell
Athletic Trainer
(865) 471-3419 bcampbell@cn.edu
Matt Cahoon
Athletic Trainer
865-471-3515 mcahoon@cn.edu
Coree Georgenson
Athletic Trainer
865-471-4162 cgeorgenson@cn.edu
Nick Bianco
Athletic Trainer
865-471-2049 nbianco@cn.edu
Kelly Brock
Athletic Trainer
865-471-2074 kbrock@cn.edu
Nathan Sommers
Athletic Trainer
865-471-4846 nsommers@cn.edu
Lacie Giesel
Graduate Assistant Trainer
865-471-4162 lkgeisel@cn.edu
Dan Harrison
Graduate Assistant Trainer
865-471-4162 djharrison@cn.edu
Austin Jones
Graduate Assistant Trainer
865-471-4162 kajones971@cn.edu
Jill Seals
Insurance Coordinator
865-471-3359 jseals@cn.edu
Matt Rappe'
Medical Director/Orthopedist
865-558-4400
Benson Scott
Primary Care Sports Medicine Physician
865-558-4400
Ward Phillips
Internal Medicine Physician
423-581-7040

Sports Performance

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Johnny Long
Director of Sports Performance
865-471-3360 jjlong@cn.edu
Thomas Collins
Assistant Strength and Conditioning Coach
865-748-7295 Jtc1618@gmail.com

Baseball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Tom Griffin
Head Coach
(865) 471-3465 tgriffin@cn.edu
Mark Allen Bounds
Pitching Coach
865-471-3526 mbounds@cn.edu
Brandon Roberts
Assistant Coach
865-471-3526 baroberts@cn.edu
Matt Lambert
Assistant Coach
865-471-3526

Men's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Chuck Benson
Head Coach
(865) 471-3371 cbenson@cn.edu
Shane Williams
Assistant Coach
(865) 471-4151 swilliams@cn.edu
Taylor Hawkins
Volunteer Assistant Coach
423-536-8243 tphawkins@cn.edu
Dave Gorman
Assistant Coach

Women's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mike Mincey
Head Coach
(865) 471-3366 mmincey@cn.edu
Tatum Burstrom
Assistant Coach
865-471-3511 tburstrom@cn.edu

Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Tyler Stepp
Head Cross Country Coach/Assistant Track Coach/Jump Coach
865-417-3454 tstepp@cn.edu
Eric Phillips
Assistant Coach
865-417-3454 ephillips@cn.edu

Football

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mike Turner
Head Coach
(865) 471-3364 mturner@cn.edu
Mike Clowney
Associate Head Coach/Running Backs
(865) 471-3571 mclowney@cn.edu
Larry Slade
Defensive Coordinator
865-471-3403 lslade@cn.edu
Dan Redding
Defensive Line
(865) 471-3398 dredding@cn.edu
Aaron Hutsell
Linebackers/Recruiting Coordinator
(865) 471-4794 ahutsell@cn.edu
John Cryder
Tight Ends
(865) 471-3363 jcryder@cn.edu
Kevin Day
Offensive Line
865-471-2075 kday@cn.edu
Josh Turner
Offensive Line
865-471-3369 jturner@cn.edu
Carl White
Wide Receivers
865-471-3362 cwhite@cn.edu
Kevin McKeethan
Quarterbacks
865-471-3361 kmckeethan@cn.edu
Antonio Goss
Defensive Backs/Special Teams
865-471-3504 agoss@cn.edu
Logan Bookout
Graduate Assistant - Video/Operations/Graphics
865-471-3373
Scott Green
Graduate Assistant - Linebackers
865-471-3373 stgreen@cn.edu
Jordan Parsons
Graduate Assistant - Receivers
865-471-3373 jparsons@cn.edu
Mac Lambert
Assistant Running Backs
mmlamb@charter.net
David Tucker
Assistant Offensive Line
Richard Everett
Team Chaplain and Travel Coordinator
865-654-8123 cnufootball@bellsouth.net

Men's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Randy Wylie
Head Coach
865-659-5990 rwylie@cn.edu
John Wylie
Assistant Golf Coach
Wyliegolfpro@aol.com
Andrew Hall
Volunteer Assistant Coach

Women's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Suzanne Strudwick
Senior Women's Administrator/Head Coach
865-471-4983 sstrudwick@cn.edu

Men's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Stephen Lyons
Head Coach
865-471-4262 slyons@cn.edu
Matthew Carr
Assistant Coach
mcarr@cn.edu
David Baisden
Graduate Assistant
dbaisden@cn.edu

Women's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Simon Duffy
Head Coach
865-471-3520 sduffy@cn.edu
Matthew Carr
Assistant Coach
mcarr@cn.edu
Julianne Herrity
Graduate Assistant
865-471-4814 jherrity@cn.edu
Wayne Harvey
Assistant Coach
(865) 471-4822
Helen Seed
Volunteer Assistant Coach

Softball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Michael Graves
Head Coach
865-471-3424 mgraves@cn.edu
Kristen Toppel
Assistant Coach
865-471-4289 kmtoppel@cn.edu

Men's Swimming

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jordan Taylor
Head Coach
865-471-4821 jtaylor@cn.edu
Chase Copland
Assistant Coach
865-471-4821
Margaret Stansberry
Graduate Assistant
865-471-4821
Evan Pinion
Graduate Assistant
865-471-4821

Women's Swimming

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jordan Taylor
Head Coach
865-471-4821 jtaylor@cn.edu
Chase Copland
Assistant Coach
865-471-4821
Margaret Stansberry
Graduate Assistant
865-471-4821
Evan Pinion
Graduate Assistant
865-471-4821

Men's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jim Frederick
Head Coach
865-471-3367 jfrederick@cn.edu
David Blank
Volunteer Coach

Women's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jim Frederick
Head Coach
865-471-3367 jfrederick@cn.edu

Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
David Needs
Head Coach
(865) 471-3360 dneeds@cn.edu
Tyler Stepp
Head Cross Country Coach/Assistant Track Coach/Jump Coach
865-417-3454 tstepp@cn.edu
Doug Lowell
Assistant Coach
832-567-6399 dlowell190@gmail.com
Mark Stepp
Volunteer Assistant
Renee Zellner
Volunteer Assistant
rzellner@comcast.net
Colin Smith
Assistant Coach/Recruiting Coordinator
(865) 471-3360 casmith@cn.edu
Eric Phillips
Assistant Coach
865-417-3454 ephillips@cn.edu
Kelly Brock
Athletic Trainer
865-471-2074 kbrock@cn.edu

Volleyball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dave Franklin
Head Coach
865-471-4216 dfranklin@cn.edu
Kody DuBarry
Assistant Coach
865-471-4813 kdubarry@cn.edu
Brandon Row
Assistant Coach/Technical Coordinator
865-471-4813 btrow@cn.edu

Cheerleading and Dance

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Christy Bowlin
Head Cheerleading and Dance Coach
cbowlin@cn.edu