Three Eagles tabbed for induction into NFF Hampshire Honor Society 

Three Eagles tabbed for induction into NFF Hampshire Honor Society 

IRVING, Texas – Three Carson-Newman football players have been tabbed for induction into the National Football Foundation's Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF announced Wednesday. 

Lineman Javon Barnes (Stone Mountain, Ga.), linebacker Zach Cichoki (Oviedo, Fla.) and quarterback Tyson Herron (Bogart, Ga.).

Members of the Hampshire Honor Society have to have completed their final year of eligibility, achieved a 3.2 cumulative GPA throughout their entire course and been significant contributors throughout the 2018 season. 

They are the first members named to the Honor Society since 2017's class of Phalen Booker, Lane Bloom, Austin Lewis, Kooper Davis and Dan Gallman

Carson-Newman's three selections are tied with Wingate for the most in the South Atlantic Conference. 

Barnes and Cichocki are both business majors with 3.34 and 3.32 GPAs, respectively.  Herron is a physical education meeting with a 3.50 GPA.

Barnes appeared in all 11 games for Carson-Newman on the defensive line.  He tallied 14 tackles, three for loss and two sacks. 

Zach Cichoki was Carson-Newman's leader in special teams tackles. 

Herron was a member of the leadership committee for the Eagles and appeared in every game for Carson-Newman. As a backup quarterback, Herron completed 4-of-7 passes for 52 yards and a touchdown against Virginia-Lynchburg.  He ran the ball 11 times for 43 yards on the year.

Game Day Central 9-22-18
September 22, 2018 Game Day Central 9-22-18