Gallman makes 25th anniversary Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

Gallman makes 25th anniversary Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

C-N Football: Dan Gallman Allstate AFCA Good Works Team 9-15-16
Sep 15, 2016

VIDEO: Dan Gallman interview

NORTHBROOK, Ill. – Senior offensive lineman Dan Gallman (Naples, Fla.) has been named to the 25th Anniversary Allstate American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Good Works Team, which is designed to recognize college football players that have made a commitment to service and enriching the lives of others.

In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and the AFCA, each player must be actively involved with a charitable organization or service group while maintaining a strong academic standing.

"We're excited for him because it's a sign that he's been encouraged to do something that's very special," head coach Ken Sparks said. "It's his call and he's doing it. Dan's always wanted to make a difference in other people's lives.  He cares about others, and do see him around little kids is just amazing, he really connects with them.  We're so excited for him and just so proud of him.  This is a great honor, and I think it's one of the best ones."

Carson-Newman has seen six players make the make the final 25 as Byron Bell (2011), Kevin Day (2012) and Curt Duncan (2013) did so in consecutive seasons with Joey King earning a spot in 2005 and 2003.

The Eagles six selections are the most in all Division II.  The Eagles trail St. Thomas (Minn.) (D-III), 13 and Bethel (Minn.) (D-III), for the most selections among non-FBS schools.  The Eagles are tied with FCS power North Dakota State. 

The Naples, Fla. native is a two-time College Sports Information Directors Association (CoSIDA) Academic All-District selection with a 3.80 GPA in finance and a second-team All-South Atlantic Conference selection in 2015.  He was named preseason first team All-SAC prior to the start of this season.

Carson-Newman has more Allstate AFCA Good Works team selections in the last six seasons (four) than every FCS, Division II, Division III and NAIA program in the country.  The Eagles trail only Duke and Georgia for the number of selections to the team since 2011 overall.  The Blue Devils and Bulldogs each have five honorees. 

Carson-Newman's football program has more Good Works team honorees than the rest of the South Atlantic Conference combined.  Three Tusculum Pioneers have been honored, while Wingate saw linebacker Eric Mapoles recognized in 2014.

In addition to his on-field achievements and work in the classroom, Gallman has helped with the Jefferson City Food Bank and reads to kids at Jefferson City Elementary frequently. He has volunteered each year with Luke 14, a special needs day where he goes to Manley Baptist Church to assist with activities.

The senior has volunteered at Carson-Newman's yearly day of service, Operation INASMUCH, and the football team's annual day of service. In 2015, he spent a day as a coach for a football camp organized by Garth Brooks Teammates for Kids Foundation.  He also assisted with moving the Voice of the Eagles Adam Cavalier and his wife into their new home.  

"I knew there was something special about him when I recruited him," Sparks said. "He comes from a program at Naples High School in Florida that's coached by Bill Kramer, and he does things the right way.  It was quickly apparent to me that Dan had some substance to him.  It's been a whole lotta fun to watch him develop."

Gallman was second on the team in overall grade and knockdowns in 2015. He has cleared the way for a 1,000-yard rusher in all three of his seasons as a starter for Carson-Newman. The Eagles rushed for 570 yards in the regular season finale in 2015 – the fifth highest single-game tally in Carson-Newman football history – behind Gallman's blocking. Carson-Newman cracked 60 points three times and 600 yards of total offense three times behind Gallman's road-grading capabilities.

The 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel includes: former Good Works Team® members Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team), media members Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN) and Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star); current AFCA President and Ashland University head coach Lee Owens; 2001 AFCA President and current athletic director at Virginia Union University Joe Taylor; and Thomas Clarkson, president of the west territory for Allstate Insurance Company.

NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (I-A)

Name                                 Cl.       Pos.    School                                                           Hometown  

Deshaun Watson         Jr.       QB      Clemson University                      Gainesville, Ga.

Derek McCartney        Jr.       LB       University of Colorado-Boulder Westminster, Colo.

DeVon Edwards           RSr.   DB      Duke University                               Covington, Ga.

Alec Eberle                     RSo.   OL      Florida State University    Mechanicsville, Va.

Jeb Blazevich                Jr.       TE       University of Georgia                    Charlotte, N.C.

KeShun Freeman         Jr.       DL      Georgia Institute of Technology LaGrange, Ga.

Makani Kema-Kaleiwahea RSr.   DL                                               University of Hawaii                                             Honolulu, O'ahu

Mike Caprara               RSr.   LB       University of Pittsburgh         Turtle Creek, Pa.

Caylin Moore                 Sr.      DB      TCU                                                            Carson, Calif.

Dane Evans                    RSr.   QB      University of Tulsa                          Sanger, Texas

Oren Burks                     RJr.    LB       Vanderbilt University         Fairfax Station, Va.

Zach Terrell                   RSr.   QB      Western Michigan University Fort Wayne, Ind.


NCAA Football Championship Subdivision (I-AA), Divisions II, III and NAIA

Name                                    Cl.       Pos.     School                                                                   Hometown

Zach Bernhard                     RSr.     LB       Ashland University                                         Ashland, Ohio

Drew Neuville                      Sr.        TE       Bethel University (Minn.)                            Green Bay, Wis.

Dan Gallman                        Sr.        OL       Carson-Newman University                                Naples, Fla.

Nate Casey                           Sr.        LB       Davidson College                                           Tega Cay, S.C.

Michael Allen                       Sr.        LB       University of the Incarnate Word                  Garland, Texas

Luke Grooters                      Sr.        LB       Morningside College                                Rock Rapids, Iowa

Carl Jones                             RSr.     OL       North Carolina Central University                Nashville, Tenn.

Corbin Jountti                      Jr.        RB       Northern Arizona University                     Bakersfield, Calif.

Zach Clark                           Sr.        OL       Oklahoma Baptist University              Oklahoma City, Okla.

Kaymon Farmer                   Sr.        WR      Southeastern Oklahoma State University     Pittsburg, Texas

Trent Brodbeck                    RSr.     TE       Wayne State University (Mich.)                        Toledo, Ohio

Brett Kasper                         Jr.        QB      University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh              Two Rivers, Wis.


Honorary Head Coach

Name                           School

Mark Richt                  University of Miami

Sparks to be honored Dec. 3
November 22, 2016 Sparks to be honored Dec. 3
Newberry sacks C-N 34-19
October 15, 2016 Newberry sacks C-N 34-19