Clark lays claim to TSWA Player of the Week honor

Clark lays claim to TSWA Player of the Week honor

VIDEO: Charles Clark Interview

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Two days after being honored as the South Atlantic Conference tournament MVP, C-N men's basketball freshman guard Charles Clark (Murfreesboro, Tenn.) has been honored as the TSWA State Player of the Week. 

Clark averaged 24.3 points and 5.7 rebounds to earn MVP honors at the South Atlantic Conference Tournament and help the Eagles advance to the NCAA Tournament with a 63-48 victory over the top-seeded and third-ranked Lincoln Memorial Railsplitters in the SAC title game. 

Clark's defense was crucial in holding LMU under 50 points.  The Railsplitters 48-point output was the lowest point total in SAC title game history. 

Clark drilled 7-of-12 shots and finished with 18 points in the tournament opener against Coker College before netting a career-best 33 points in the semifinals versus Newberry. The freshman guard made 10-of-16 shots from the field with three 3-pointers and also connected on 10-for-13 at the foul line.  His field goal and free throw numbers were both career highs.

Clark finished with 23 points and nine boards against third-ranked Lincoln Memorial in the championship game. It was the third conference tournament title in school history for the Eagles' and the first since 2002. Clark ranks second on the club with 12.1 points and 2.0 assists per game this season.

Clark joins junior forward Carson Brooks as the Eagles' weekly TSWA honorees this season.  Brooks won the honor the first week of the season after he set a SAC and school record by going 12-for-12 from the field against Barton.

Clark and the rest of the Eagles will be on display in the NCAA tournament Saturday as the seven seed against Montevallo. Tipoff from Harrogate, Tenn. and Tex Turner Arena is set for 2:30 p.m. Pregame coverage on the Eagle Sports Network begins at 2:15 with the Appalachian Electric Cooperative Countdown to Tipoff on Mountain Country 106.3 (WPFT-FM, Sevierville) and online at

November 18 – Carson Brooks, Carson-Newman
November 25 – Corieon Pearson, Union University
December 2 – Craig Bradshaw, Belmont University
December 9 – Byron Sanford, Trevecca University
December 16 – Josh Richardson, Tennessee
December 23 – Deville Smith, UT Martin
January 6 – Austin Nichols, Memphis
January 13 – Ashanti Day, Union University
January 20 – Josh Williams, Lipscomb
January 27 – Logan Lyle, King University
February 3 – Mason Fox, Tusculum College
February 10 – Marshun Newell, UT Martin
February 17 – Sidy Sall, Christian Brothers
February 24 – Giddy Potts, Middle Tennessee
March 3 – Bryon Sanford, Trevecca University

Benson inks Gardner to NLI
December 4, 2014 Benson inks Gardner to NLI
Eagles throttle Pacers 87-65
November 29, 2014 Eagles throttle Pacers 87-65