Frosty Awards Nominees Released, Open for Fan Voting

Frosty Awards Nominees Released, Open for Fan Voting

JEFFERSON CITY, Tenn. – The nominees for 12 Frosty Awards categories have been released after selection from the Frosty Awards Committee.  The Frosty Awards are open to the public and will take place in Gentry Auditorium on Sunday, May 3 at 2 p.m.

These nominees will be trimmed down to four finalists per category before the winners are unveiled May 3.  Fans can vote for which nominees should move on and be finalists at the following link:

A combination of fan vote, Eagle Club voting, Carson-Newman coaches voting and the Frosty Awards Committee will determine the finalists and winners.

Comeback of the year

            • Carson-Newman Football at Tusculum

            • Women's Basketball at Mars Hill

            • Softball versus Catawba

            • Women's Golf in the South Atlantic Conference tournament

            • Football versus North Greenville

            • Volleyball versus Newberry

            • Volleyball at Mars Hill

            • Men's Basketball versus Lenoir-Rhyne

Game of the Year

            • Men's Soccer versus Anderson

            • Women's Soccer versus Mars Hill

            • Men's Basketball versus #3 LMU in SAC title game

            • Baseball versus #26 Catawba

            • Women's Tennis versus Catawba

• Women's Basketball versus USC Aiken

• Volleyball versus USC Aiken

• Softball versus Tusculum

• Softball versus Catawba

            • Football versus Catawba


Female Performance of the Year

            • Jecca Simerly (WBB) scores 27 on Coker

            • Bre Lockett (SB) sets school records for RBI, total bases and home runs v. Bluefield State

            • Danielle Baiunco finishes second at SAC women's golf championships

            • Danielle Kranz pitches no-hitter versus Davis & Elkins

            • Natalie Burnett (women's swimming) tears up Bluegrass Mountain Conference

            • Elizabeth England wins Etowah Intercollegiate

            • Kristen Pickett (VB) posts double-double to end Wingate's 55-game conference win streak

            • Jenna Wilson (VB) tallies 21 kills and four blocks in four-set win over Anderson


Upset of the year

            • Volleyball @ #7 Wingate

            • Volleyball versus USC Aiken in NCAA tournament

            • Baseball takes series from #26 Catawba

            • Men's Basketball downs #1 LMU on the road

            • Softball beats #21 Anderson on the road in sweep

            • Danielle Baiunco (women's golf) at the Campbell Invitational


Male Newcomer of the Year

• Paul Ungur (Men's Swimming)

• Andrew Hall (Men's Golf)

• Lachlan Dickie (Cross Country)

• Tanner Stepp (Track and field)

• Charles Clark (Men's Basketball)

• Jamie Miller (Baseball)

• Sha'Heem Stupart (Football)


Male Performance of the Year

            • Andy Hibbett (Football) rushes for 190 yards, three touchdowns on seven carries versus Mars Hill

            • Charles Clark (Men's Baskeball) scores 33 on Newberry in SAC semifinals

            • Tanner Stepp (Track and Field) sets school, SAC and track records in high jump at PowerSox Invite

            • Vince Apicella (Baseball) strikes out 14, shuts out #26 Catawba

            • Cade Snapp (Baseball) drives in seven runs versus Bluefield State

            • Paul Ungur (Men's Swimming) finishes third at nationals

            • De'Andre Thomas (football) scores four touchdowns, passes for 200+ yards, rushes for 100+ yards versus Catawba

            • Paul Ungur (Men's Swimming) breaks six school records at Fall Frenzy

            • Nick Kennedy (Men's Golf) wins playoff to take home individual medalist honors at North Georgia Fall Invitational

            • Andy Hibbett (Football) takes down Tusculum with 221 rushing yards, three touchdowns

            • Carson Brooks (Men's Basketball) sets school and SAC record going 12-for-12 from floor versus Barton


Play of the Year

            • Carson Brooks posterizes two Cobras with dunk

            • Rurik Periera (Men's Soccer) hits a bicycle kick versus Wingate

            • Lukas Jokisch's 90th minute goal versus Anderson

            • Bryan Everhart blasts grand slam versus Catawba

            • Hayley Burnette (Softball) clinches conference title with walkoff hit versus Tusculum

            • Andy Hibbett's 64-yard scamper versus Mars Hill

            • William Alderman (football) scoop and score versus Lenoir-Rhyne

            • Lonnie Williams (football) 100-yard kickoff return versus Brevard

            Jessica Morgan's inside-the-park home run versus Indiana Wesleyan


Female Newcomer of the Year

            • Jenna Wilson (volleyball)

            • Jecca Simerly (women's basketball)

            • Helen Seed (women's soccer)

            • Lexy Raybon (women's swimming)

            • Elizabeth England (women's golf)

            • Tori Gaul (track and field)

            • Allison Hodge (women's basketball)

            • Bre Lockett (softball)

            • Lindsay Dean (softball)

            • Danielle Kranz (softball)


Coach of the Year

            • Chuck Benson (men's basketball)

            • Dan Ahiers (volleyball)

            • David Needs (track and field)

            • Paige McCord (swimming)

            • Ken Sparks (football)

            • Vickee Kazee-Hollifield (softball)

            • Randy Wylie (men's golf)

            • Richard Moodie (men's soccer)

            • Mike Mincey (women's basketball)

            • Tom Griffin (baseball)

            • Suzanne Strudwick (women's golf)

            • Tony Parrilla (cross country)

            • Jean Love (tennis)


Team of the Year

            • Volleyball

            • Men's Basketball

            • Men's Golf

            • Football

            • Women's Basketball

            • Softball

            • Swimming

            • Track and Field

            • Women's Golf


Male Athlete of the Year

            • Andy Hibbett (Football)

            • Paul Ungur (swimming)

            • Nick Kennedy (Men's Golf)

            • Andrew Hall (Men's Golf)

            • Carson Brooks (Men's Basketball)

            • Tanner Stepp (Track and Field)

            • Evan Jurjevic (Baseball)

            • Marius Staalby (Men's Soccer)


Female Athlete of the Year

            • Rachel Harper (Volleyball)

            • Jenna Wilson (Volleyball)

            • Natalie Burnett (Swimming)

            • Bre Lockett (Softball)
            • Patricia Guerreiro (Tennis)

            • Tori Gaul (Track and Field)

            • Tiana Mills (Track and Field)

            • Kristen Pickett (Volleyball) 

            • Elizabeth England (Women's Golf)

            • Danielle Baiunco (Women's Golf)