Swim team set to open new season at CSCAA Open Water National Championships

LAWRENCE, K.S. – The Carson-Newman swim team will open up their 2019-2020 campaign at the CSCAA Open Water National Championships in Lawrence, Kansas on Saturday, Sept. 14 at 8:30 a.m.

The Eagles will swim in the event for the fourth straight season with a chance to finish with the most points of all DII competitors for the third year in a row.

Jordan Taylor begins his fifth season as head coach alongside four returning swimmers that qualified for the NCAA DII National Championships last March in Indianapolis.

Senior Caleb Howell, sophomore Matt George, junior CJ Jensen and sophomore Meredith Ginn all return to Mossy Creek looking to improve upon their record-breaking performance on the national stage.

The Eagles sent eight swimmers to Indiana, surpassing the program record of seven set by Taylor's 2017 team.

Carson-Newman will be without some of last year's top-performers in Marcelo Figueiredo, Seth Hughes, Elly Culp and Lisa Postma who all made it to the National Championships last season before graduating in May. The four combined to set 14 individual records during their Eagle careers.

Other returners include senior Regina Zipperer (Memphis, TN) who finished fourth amongst DII swimmers in last year's contest and senior Mary Northcutt (Huntsville, Ala.) who notched a first-place finish in the 50-yard freestyle at the Bluegrass Mountain Conference Championships last season.

On the men's side, juniors Chad Andoljsek (Slovenia) and Nikola Tadic (Croatia) aim to improve upon their 2018 campaigns that saw them take part in the 200-yard freestyle relay at the National Championships.

Be sure to keep up with the action throughout the season on all of Carson-Newman's social media platforms.