Four Eagles garner preseason All-SAC soccer honors

Four Eagles garner preseason All-SAC soccer honors

ROCK HILL, S.C. — The Carson-Newman men's soccer team had four players named to the 2011 preseason All-South Atlantic Conference team, league officials announced Thursday.

Senior forward Robert Hill (Middlesbrough, England) was named to the first team, while senior defender Anthony Chiappetta (Morristown, Tenn.), junior midfielder Matt Craine (Morristown, Tenn.) and junior forward Emmanuel Aboagye (Ghana) garnered second team honors.

Hill, a first team All-SAC performer in 2010, started 17 matches for the Eagles last season and ranked second in the conference in shots (78), third in shots per game (4.59), points (27) and points per game (1.59), fourth in goals per game (0.65) and fifth in goals (11). He produced three match-winning goals and dished out five assists. Hill was also a second team Daktronics All-Southeast Region and NSCAA All-Southeast Region selection last season.

Chiappetta recorded two goals, including one match-winner, and dished out three assists for a total of seven points in 2010. He helped anchor a C-N defense that produced four shutouts on the season.

Aboagye earned second team All-SAC honors a year ago after tallying five goals and one assist for a total of 11 points, while Craine played an integral role in helping the Eagle defense shut out four opponents.

Defending South Atlantic Conference champion Anderson University and Mars Hill College lead the way with five student-athletes apiece on the 2011 preseason All-Conference Team, the league announced.

The Trojans, who went 15-6-2 in 2010 and advanced to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament, also placed a league-high four players on the first team.

Reigning SAC Player of the Year and senior forward Lasse Sohrweide leads the way for Anderson on the first team. Sohrweide, who was a first team Daktronics All-American selection and the Daktronics Southeast Region Player of the Year last season, led the conference in points (45), points per game (2.00), goals (18), goals per game (0.74) and assists (12) a year ago. Joining Sohrweide on the first team from Anderson are forward Clement Samson, midfielder Ben Jones and defender James Moseley. Midfielder Ryan Messick is the Trojans' lone second team selection.

The Lions placed three players on the first team, including midfielder Shadi Harb, defender Troy Chavez and midfielder Isaiah Shafer. Forward Stephen Bivens and goalkeeper Zac Scott are on the second team.

Carson-Newman and Wingate, the 2010 co-SAC regular season champions, have four selections each.

Senior forward Robbie Hill is the Eagles' lone first team honoree, while forward Emmanuel Aboagye, midfielder Matt Craine and defender Anthony Chiappetta are on the second team.

Forward Gui Lima and defender Gui Andrade are Wingate's first team selections, while forward Fabricio Barancoski and defender Corey McCollom are on the second team.

Catawba and Lenoir-Rhyne have two selections apiece.

Midfielder Carson Smith is Catawba's first team selection. Midfielder Corey Faughnan and defender Domhnall Minogu represent the Indians on the second team.

Bears' defender Chris Wilson is on the first team, while forward Chibuzo Nwosu and defender Sean Rogers are on the second team.

Lincoln Memorial has two selections, including first team goalkeeper Michael Watkins. Midfielder Chris Nash is on the second team.

C-N finished 2010 at 12-5-1 overall and 8-1 in the conference. The Eagles won a share of the SAC regular season title.


2011 Men's Soccer Preseason All-South Atlantic Conference Teams

First Team

F – Lasse Sohrweide, Anderson

F – Clement Samson, Anderson

F – Robbie Hill, Carson-Newman

F – Gui Lima, Wingate

MF – Ben Jones, Anderson

MF – Shadi Harb, Mars Hill

MF – Isiah Shafer, Mars Hill

MF – Carson Smith, Catawba

D – James Moseley, Anderson

D – Troy Chavez, Mars Hill

D – Gui Andrade, Wingate

D – Chris Wilson, Lenoir-Rhyne

GK – Michael Watkins, Lincoln Memorial


Second Team

F – Stephen Bivens, Mars Hill

F – Emmanuel Aboagye, Carson-Newman

F – Fabricio Barancoski, Wingate

F – Chibuzo Nwosu, Lenoir-Rhyne

MF – Ryan Messick, Anderson

MF – Matt Craine, Carson-Newman

MF – Corey Faughnan, Catawba

MF – Chris Nash, Lincoln Memorial

D – Anthony Chiappetta, Carson-Newman

D – Corey McCollom

D – Domhnall Minogu, Catawba

D – Sean Rogers, Lenoir-Rhyne

GK – Zac Scott, Mars Hill

Eagles fall to Young Harris
October 26, 2011 Eagles fall to Young Harris
LMU blocks Eagles' path, 3-0
September 29, 2011 LMU blocks Eagles' path, 3-0