Eagles' Tribue Named First Team All-American For Second Time

Eagles' Tribue Named First Team All-American For Second Time

2010 Daktronics All-American Team

BROOKINGS, S.D. - Carson-Newman offensive tackle Michael Tribue (Antioch, Tenn.) has been named to the 2010 Daktronics First Team All-American Team. Tribue earns the honor for the second consecutive season. 

The senior paved the way for an Eagles' offense that finished second nationally in rushing offense, averaging 311.2 yards per game. He helped the Eagles to a 451-yard rushing performance in at 35-13 win at Newberry in October.

The Eagles would top that effort against rival Tusculum in their season finale, rushing for 452 yards in a 49-48 win over the Pioneers. Tribue was the lead blocker on the game-winning two-point conversion to give the Eagles the lead.

As a junior, Tribue won the Jacobs' Blocking Trophy, which is awarded to the South Atlantic Conference's top offensive lineman. He was also a finalist for the Gene Upshaw Award, which is given to the nation's top lineman. 

In his final two seasons at Mossy Creek, Tribue helped mow the way for the Eagles to rush for 8,137 yards and 98 rushing TDs, twice earning first team All-SAC honors. In 2009, the Eagles led the nation in rushing offense at 336.7 yards per game. 

A pair of record breaking performers headline the team.

Central Missouri's Eric Czerniewski topped NCAA Division II with 5,207 passing yards and 46 touchdown passes while leading the Mules to an 11-3 mark and a national quarterfinal appearance to earn Ron Lenz Offensive Player of the Year honors.

The senior quarterback set new Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association career marks with 12,874 passing yards and became the league's total offense leader.

Czerniewski three for 300 yards 10 times in 2010.

Valdosta State's Larry Dean led the Blazers to an NCAA Division II postseason appearance tallying 122 tackles in 11 games while becoming the Gulf South Conference's career tackles record holder to gamer Ron Lenz Defensive Player of the Year recognition.

Dean eclipsed the old GSC mark by 25 tackles while besting the Valdosta State career mark of 340 previously held by Jessie Tuggle.

The first-team offensive selections features 12 seniors out of the possible 13 positions which included a Harlon Hill finalist in Czerniewski, Gene Upshaw awardee Brandon Fusco of Slippery Rock and two Upshaw award finalists in Grand Valley State's Cameron Bradfield and Abilene Christian's Trevis Turner.

Carson-Newman's Michael Tribue and Kyle Thornton of North Alabama rounded out the first-team picks on the offensive line with West Liberty State's Ryan Travis at tight end.

The nation's leaders in regular season receiving yards gained first-team honors at wide receiver as St. Cloud State's Fred Williams finished with 95 receptions for 1,616 yards and Central Missouri's Jamorris Warren closed the season with 109 catches for 1,458 yards.

Bloomsburg's Franklyn Quiteh and Michigan Tech's Phil Milbrath followed suit at the running back position.

Quiteh, who as a redshirt freshman was the lone underclassman to earn first-team offensive accolades, led the nation with 2,015 yards on 309 carries and 22 touchdowns while Milbrath ran for 1,412 yards and 10 TDs.

Angelo State return man Garrett Tidwell and Tusculum kicker Gareth Rowlands earned special teams honors.

A trio of Upshaw Award finalists highlighted first-team defensive selections including Marc Schiechl of Colorado Mines, Courtney Harris of North Alabama and Malcolm Jenkins of Elizabeth City State.

Dean was joined at linebacker by Urbana's Travis Brisco, Pittsburg State's Nate Dreiling and Minnesota-Duluth's Kiel Fechtelkotter.

Eastern New Mexico's Tillman Stevens and Jeremy Jones of Wayne State (Mich.) are the safeties while Valdosta State's Stevie Harden and Northwest Missouri State's Ryan Jones rounds out the secondary selections at the cornerback posts.

Angelo State's George Shamblin earned top punter honors.

The is in its 18th year of sponsorship by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA), with online nomination and the voting process powered by AthleticSite.com.

Gameday Central vs. Catawba
October 15, 2010 Gameday Central vs. Catawba