Carson-Newman’s Bell nominated for AFCA Good Works Team®

Carson-Newman’s Bell nominated for AFCA Good Works Team®

NORTHBROOK, Ill. — Carson-Newman senior defensive end Byron Bell (Knoxville, Tenn.) has been named a nominee for the 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®, officials announced last week.

The 6-1, 230-pound Bell started 10 games for the Eagles in 2010. He recorded 42 tackles, including 10 for a loss, and 6.5 sacks for a unit that ranked second in the conference in scoring defense and rushing defense.

Off the field, Bell has been an active member of the community throughout his career. He has served as president of the Carson-Newman Fellowship of Christian Athletes for two years, went on an American football teaching mission trip to Israel, took a mission trip to South Africa, was a summer counselor at Kids Across America, volunteered for the Luke 14 Banquet, started C-N Compassion and the C-N Sports Services, helped with the Carson-Newman campus beautification program, participated in repairing schools in a nearby county, gave away Thanksgiving meals to families in need, has spoken about bully prevention at local schools, has led multiple Bible studies and served as a tutor on campus.

Bell has a 3.1 GPA and is working toward a double major in Business Administration and Biblical Leadership.

Bell is one of a record 132 nominees for the team and one of only two honorees from the South Atlantic Conference, as Tusculum College quarterback Bo Cordell was also nominated. The award recognizes the selfless contributions to volunteerism and community service made by college football student-athletes across the nation.

From the nominees submitted by sports information directors across the nation on behalf of their schools, a special voting panel consisting of former Good Works Team® members and prominent college football media members will select two 11-player Good Works Teams® – one comprising of players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and another representing players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III, and the NAIA.  The 22 student-athletes named to the 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® will be announced in late September.

This year marks the program's 20th year honoring college football players at all levels of competition who stand out for their "good works" in the community.  Since 1992, selection to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® has become the gold standard for off-the-field character and leadership for college football players. The honor is widely considered the sport's pre-eminent community service award.

"The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team is one of the most important awards in college football because it highlights some of the best and brightest student-athletes in the country," said Grant Teaff, AFCA Executive Director. "With this being the 20th year of this outstanding award, it's great to see a record number of nominees sent in from some of the leading football programs in the nation. The AFCA is proud to share in this anniversary year with our partners at Allstate."

After a successful first-year partnership with, Allstate and the AFCA will re-launch its customized Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® website featuring profiles and images of the final team members, as well as an opportunity for fans to vote for the 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain.

In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and the AFCA, each player must be actively involved and committed to working with a charitable organization, service group or community service while maintaining good academic standing.

2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Nominees

Combined Divisions (FCS, II, III & NAIA)

Angelo State University – Alvin Johnson

Campbell University – Branden Burt

Campbellsville University – William Warf

Capital University – Troy Spiker

Carroll College (Mont.) – Nick Petrusha

Carson-Newman College – Byron Bell

Central College (Iowa) – Cory Nikkel

Central Methodist University – Jacob Heppner

Charleston Southern University – Chris Kuzdale

Dakota Wesleyan University – Anthony Muilenburg

Drake University – Stoy Hall

Duquesne University – Zach Richert

Elmhurst College – Chris Kirkpatrick

Elon University – Dale Riley

Ferris State University – Tom Schneider

Florida A&M University – Padric Scott

Frostburg State University – Josh Volpe

Georgia Southern University – Andrew Boyd Sasser

Grinnell College – Mike Bogard

Heidelberg University – Derrick Arbogast

Henderson State University – Nick Johnson

Hobart College – Jarrid Blades

Illinois State University – Matt Lancaster

Indiana State University – Alex Sewall

Johns Hopkins University – Doug Drummond

Macalester College – David Melms

McNeese State University – Ben Bourgeois

Millsaps College – Garrett Pinciotti

Missouri Southern State University – Kellen Cox

Montana State University – Rick Haluszka

Morningside College – Colby Rohde

North Dakota State University – Coulter Boyer

North Park University – Casey Smagala

Northern Arizona University – Matt Myers

Northwest Missouri State University – Jake Soy

Northwestern College (Iowa) – Chris Butler

Northwestern State University (La.) – Yaser Elqutub

Old Dominion University – Ronnie Cameron

Samford University – Jeremy Towns

Shenandoah University – Kyle Feldman

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology – Andy Smith

South Dakota State University – Jake Steffen

Southern Illinois University – Mike McElroy

St. Cloud State University – Matt Theis

St. John's University (Minn.) – Andrew Rotschafer

St. Olaf College – Leon Clark

St. Xavier University – Michael Prosser

SUNY Maritime College – Ricky McClain

Tarleton State University – Levi Kirkland

Thiel College – Tim Taylor

Thomas More College – Jay Volker

Towson University – Marcus Valentine

Trinity University (Texas) – Markham Stayton

Tusculum College – Bo Cordell

Union College – Jonathan Stidd

University of California - Davis – Bobby Erskine

University of Dubuque – Michael Zweifel

University of Montana – Alex Shaw

University of New Hampshire – Chris Zarkoskie

University of North Dakota – Justin Belotti

University of Northern Iowa – Ben Boothby

University of Redlands – Tyler Aubrey

University of Rhode Island – Matt Greenhalgh

University of San Diego – Al-Rilwan Adeyemi

University of Sioux Falls – Braden Wieking

University of St. Thomas (Minn.) – Fritz Waldvogel

University of Tennessee - Chattanooga – B.J. Coleman

University of the Incarnate Word – Jacob Love

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater – Kris Rosholt

Wartburg College – Logan Hansen

Washington University in St. Louis – Kyle Larkin

Wayne State College (Neb.) – Joe Bundy

Wayne State University (Mich.) – Josh Renel

Wheaton College – Jordan Chapman

Williams College – William Hamrick

Winona State University – Alex Kautza