Clark named to Bevo Francis Award Watch List

Clark named to Bevo Francis Award Watch List

BALWDWIN CITY, Kan. – Carson-Newman senior guard Charles Clark has been included in the initial 100 for the watch list for the Bevo Francis Award, presented to the nation's top small college basketball player. 

This marks the second year that Clark has been included in the first watch list. Clark is one of five players from the South Atlantic Conference to receive recognition on the list.  He is joined by Dorian Pinson, Emmanuel Terry and Trevon Shaw from Lincoln Memorial and Todd Withers from Queens. 

Clark has already put together a memorable senior season.  Clark leads the South Atlantic Conference in scoring with 22.5 points per game. 

The Murfreesboro, Tenn.-native features prominently in a number of statistical categories nationally.  He is second in the country in free throws made with 110, ninth in scoring with 382 points, ninth in threes made with 58 and 11th in three-point field goal percentage at 48.3

Clark is in the top 10 for every statistical category in the South Atlantic Conference except for blocks, offensive rebounds and total rebounds. 

Clark is one of three active Division II players and one of six players in all divisions with more than 2,000 career points.  He is the third all-time leading scorer in the history of men's basketball at both Carson-Newman and the South Atlantic Conference.

The senior has four 30-point games this season, and 14 for his career. 

Members of the Bevo Francis Award committee include the following University president and coaches: Dr. Michelle Johnston – Rio Grande, Tobin Anderson - St. Thomas Aquinas (N.Y.), Drew Diener - Rockhurst (Mo.), Gerald Holmes - Bloomfield (N.J.), Gary Stewart - Stevenson (Md.), Arlen Galloway - Wentworth (Mass.), Tony Dominguez- Western Washington, Chris Briggs - Georgetown (Ky.), Bill Dreikosen - Rocky Mountain (Mont.), Klint Pleasant - Rochester (Mich.), Ryan Kane - Ripon (Wisc.), Mike McGrath - University of Chicago, Mark Berokoff – Randall (Okla.), Mike Donnelly – Florida Southern.

The committee chose this elite group from over 1,100 colleges and universities and took into consideration individual statistics, previous awards, milestones and team success.

On February 15, SCB will publish the next Watch List with 50 players. The list will be narrowed down to 25 players in a Watch List published on March 15. The finalists will be announced in a highlight video that will be released on March 31.

The 2018 Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced on April 2 but for the first time, the award will be presented to the award winner on May 19 at the newly created National Awards Show in conjunction with the SCB Alumni Association's Celebration of the Game event at the Crowne Plaza in Kansas City, Missouri.

Cheer camp set for July
April 8, 2018 Cheer camp set for July