Eagles, Lady Eagles Have Strong Showings at Tri-Conference Meet

April 23, 2007

BANNER ELK, N.C. -- The Carson-Newman track team continued an impressive 2007 campaign finishing as the top South Atlantic Conference school in the Tri-Conference Championships / Bobcat Open Saturday afternoon in Banner Elk, North Carolina.

The meet served as the unofficial conference championships meet for the Appalachian Athletic Conference (AAC), the Carolinas Virginia Athletic Conference (CVAC), and the South Atlantic Conference (SAC). In a meet that was scored several ways; the Eagles finished highest among all the SAC Schools participating in the meet.

Overall, the team finished fourth for the entire meet, second among NCAA Division II Schools, and third in head to head scoring with SAC schools. The Lady Eagles finished sixth overall, fourth among Division II Schools, and second in head-to-head scoring with SAC schools.

Antonio Gomez and Brittany Rayner were meet champions in the 110 Hurdles and Shot Put, respectively. The Women's 1600M Relay broke the old school mark set 4/20/02. Gabby Smith, Catelyn Dake, and Brittany Rayner broke their own school records in the 100M, 400M, and Shot Put, respectively.

Unofficial SAC Men's Champs: Antonio Gomez (110M Hurdles, 400M Hurdles), Ricky Harris (100M, 400M Relay), Mario Russell (400M Relay), Breland Clark (400M Relay), Christian Ross (400M Relay), Cody Svoboda (High Jump), and Jon Trevor (Javelin).

Unofficial SAC Women's Champs: Cara Hawkins (800M, 1600M Relay), Catelyn Dake (1600M Relay), Gabby Smith (1600M Relay), Amanda Watts (1600M Relay), Brittany Rayner (Shot Put, Discus), and Ginny Ellis (Javelin).

Tri-Conference Championships / Bobcat Open
C-N Women's Points Total
1. Gabby Smith62.25
2. Tina Dalton61.25
3. Brittany Rayner58
4. Catelyn Dake 32.25
5. Amanda Watts 19.25
6. Ginny Ellis 19
7. Cara Hawkins 16.5
8. Emily Skelly 12
9. Aubrey Morris 11.5
10. Tiffany Winchell 9.5
C-N Men's Points Total
1. Antonio Gomez 85
2. Ricky Harris46.5
3. Cary Steward26
4. Mike Forbs25
5. Jon Trevor16
6. Christian Ross 13.75
7. Cody Svoboda12
8. Mario Russell9
9. Breland Clark5.5
10. Matt Ward5.25